Silly me. I saw the title “Printers Row” and I got excited. I LOVE printmaking. So I jumped to visions of old-timey print shops, printing presses, the smell of ink. Silly me and my sunburned neck and tired feet.

This Sketchwalk was really challenging. Our first stop was in Congress Plaza where we learned about the history of the Congress Plaza Hotel and then were released to start sketching. But first we were informed that we would only be sketching for 20 minutes at each stop of the Sketchwalk before moving on. Groans were heard from the group as we selected our vantage points. I turned my back on the hotel and headed toward the bronze sculpture, “The Spearman”, by Ivan Meštrović. Phew. Twenty minutes to draw. Phew. I did manage to get in some of the hotel sketching sketchers.

Our next stop was a short walk away and instead of trees I opted for another sculpture, “Spirit Of Music” created by Albin Polasek. And so it went. We walked, we listened, we stopped and sketched for 20 minutes or so, and then we moved on.

It turned out to be a lot of fun and completely do-able.

Stillman and Birn Alpha Series sketchbook, Staedtler Pigment Pen 07, Pitt brush pen.

