One day, when I was doing a Library Stealth Drawing, part of my camouflage was a Tremendously Big book filled with paintings by Milton Avery. What a wonderful book. Instead of leaving it on the table I checked it out and lugged it home (heavy heavy heavy) where I decided that it would be a very good idea to copy some of those paintings. On my journal spread was a stamp I carved of some people from a meeting I attended last year. They were waiting patiently on the page for something. I turned the library book and the sketchbook upside down and copied one of the paintings using a litho pencil. VoilĂ !

Copying this painting turned out to be such fun that I was instantly set off on another of those tangents that beset me.

Stillman and Birn Zeta Series sketchbook; litho pencil, acrylic paint; Speedball Speedy Cut and cutting tools; Akua Intaglio Ink.