All of this sketching took me by surprise. I was convinced I wasn’t in the mood. Anyway, I left the contemporary galleries and as I was passing through the Print corridor I walked into the Alex Katz exhibition and did a quick look-see and was about to walk out. I’m pretty neutral about his art but as I turned to leave this somewhat messy, careless looking portrait of his wife stopped me in my tracks. I thought it was wonderful. iPat thought so also. I didn’t bother with the face since I wasn’t able to get control of the lines in the app Finngr Pro and was just making a mess. The app was perfect for everything else though.

Then, some coffee, yogurt and reading in the cafeteria, a bus ride down to 53rd Street, a film in MOMA, E train to Penn Station, lotsa yawns and eyeball day turned out pretty good.

Painted from direct observation.
iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Finngr Pro

