I arrived at the Rubin Museum, saw that the street was closed and preparations were underway for the block party which would start at 1:00. I located a few NYC Urban Sketchers up and down the block huddled in slivers of shade busily sketching. I was hot and looking for my mojo so as soon as the museum opened at 11:00 I entered (free all day!) and started at the top floor and made my way down until I spotted another sketcher (Karen) and a beautiful old wooden statue that called to me. There was a little shrine on the floor before this statue consisting of lit candles (!) and lotus flowers and as I sketched people would come by and add more flowers.

I attempted to add color to my drawing but was unable to reproduce the wood and worn pigments adequately so decided to leave it as a sketch. There were surprisingly bright reds, golds and, I’m not sure, but I have the impressions of greens. It was hard to judge the darker colors.

Gridded notebook and Pencil/Pitt fine pen, photographed using iPad and then imported into ArtRage. iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.

