The NYC Urban Sketchers spent the day on a crowded, colorful, noisy 17th Street a couple of weeks ago. The street was closed off, crafts were being crafted, food was eaten, a wagon full of ice cream was spotted weaving through the crowds and I found a stoop to sit on and sketch.

Moving down the block I found another good spot to open up my stool (no, I did not fall off of it) and more busy people. To my left a stage was set up and I couldn’t see the dancing but the music was clear and fun. The whole day was a Nepalese celebration of the monsoon, of the seasons, and as if that wasn’t enough the museum was wide open and free for everyone to explore and even relax in.

Sketched and colored from direct observation. Color was corrected and cleaned up later at home. iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Procreate and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only)

