I sketched some sketchers and then, looking around, decided to copy this portrait. I was on a bench way to the right of it and really just scribbling while I was hoping I would find another group of sketchers to park behind. I say scribbling because I figured, since I was quite far from the portrait, I would probably end up deleting it but, before I realized what I was doing, the thing was finished and bore some resemblance to the painting. Ok. I got up to copy down the artist’s name and had to do a triple-take before I wrote down the sitter’s (who I later googled) unfortunate name.

iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Procreate and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only)
Sketched from direct observation. Color added later at home referring to an image of the painting from the museum’s website since Frick allows no photo taking.

