During the Wednesday afternoon MOMA Sketch class we were doing figurative drawings. We practiced drawing our hands, varying the line weights, something I’m not very good at. We were using charcoal pencils this time – medium and soft – and I decided to draw my hands with my usual hand and with the other one. Fair is fair, right?

We were supplied with printouts of faces from masterworks which we could copy. They also had these cool triangular table mirrors for self-portraits. Well, duh, of course you all know what I chose.

I got some vine charcoal, along with the pencils and I collaged my hands on this one.

They told us we could cut up the printouts and supplied glue sticks. I did another selfie with charcoal, cut up face parts and clothing from a couple of printouts and collaged my hand drawn with white charcoal.

I sketched myself facing in the same direction as the person whose hair covering I was going to use. Someone else’s eyes and I begged the shirt from Sandra’s pile of printouts. We all wore labels with our names printed out.
(I forgot to mention, the other day, that NYC Urban Sketcher Sandra is also in my classroom getting dirty with charcoal. What a nice surprise.)

This class was a lot of fun – the inspiration just kicked in and I was on automatic pilot – no thinking involved. I love when this happens in MoMA’s studio experiences. I don’t know how or why but it is magical.

Self portraits while looking in mirror, black and white charcoal in various forms,
Collage, glue stick. At home I reassembled the collages onto black gessoed acrylic paper. These are all unfinished works in progress waiting for the lightbulb to turn on.

