I met up with the NYC Urban Sketchers on the Lower East Side a couple of Sunday’s ago. We were on Eldridge Street and I decided to sketch the sketcher sitting on the steps leading down to a not-yet-open business. She was busy working on a drawing of the famous synagogue/museum across the street.

The sun was encroaching on this side of the street so I crossed over and planted my stool right in front of a 99¢ store. The sidewalk was very narrow and there was an extraordinary amount of foot traffic in front of me and trucks and busses belching behind me. The guy below spent just the right amount of time scratching at a lottery ticket.

Before I knew it 1-1/2 hours had passed and it was time for lunch.

To be continued.

Class brochure from an art school, cut down to a smaller size, collaged with book pages, gessoed. Binding is a hair scrunchy thingy – perhaps someday it will be pamphlet bound. Drawn on location while on the Lower East Side and Union Square one Sunday with the NYC Urban Sketchers. Pencil, Sharpie Fine pen, Pitt brush pens.

