I attended the June Monotype Party at the Salmagundi Club, down on 12th Street, after I spent the afternoon copying masterpieces at The Met. My fingers were tightly crossed, as I rode the bus downtown, hoping I would retain some of my earlier sketching mojo.

I referred to a drawing I did one day in the Dining District (formerly known as Food Court in its less fancy days) at the big mall where I walk when weather conditions are inhospitable. In reality I made a practice drawing referring to the original one that lives in iPat (I know you all remember seeing the original some time back) to make sure it would fit the dimensions of the copper plate and then I made this print referring to the twice-removed sketch on newsprint.

Copper plate (plexiglass and zinc plates were also available); oil-based printing ink; Arches printing paper (dampened); thinner paper (forget the name – Japanese paper I think) for printing a ghost image; printing press.

