I work one day per week but I still am required to amass 12 continuing education credits per year. (sigh) That’s why I found myself one Friday in the Hotel Pennsylvania conveniently across the street from Penn Station. I picked up my name tag and a folder containing copies of the PowerPoint printouts for the NYC Branch of the American Society for Microbiology’s spring meeting topics. I found a gaggle of co-workers at a large table where we all had coffee and breakfast before heading into the meeting room.

The hotel supplied a pad and ballpoint pen at every place in the large meeting room and, as the first speaker spoke of Ebola, the recent Legionella outbreak, Zika and other things, I sketched with the ballpoint and made notes on the handouts.

The Legionella discussion was interesting because we were involved in it during the Bronx outbreak.

**

The next speaker’s topic was Nosocomial candidiasis.

I switched to the iPad. That’s the guy talking about Candida. When he was finished it was time for a break and we were supposed to visit the exhibits that the many many sponsors had set up in an adjacent room. I got a cup of coffee and then walked through the exhibits quickly – crowded like a rush hour subway car – then wandered around looking at the view from the 18th floor windows.

I think the drawing below was done before the coffee break because I can still hear “this is real!” in his voice when I read it.

Stay tuned, more to follow tomorrow.

#1,2,3,4 ballpoint pen on PowerPoint handout pages; photographed using iPad and then imported into Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only) #5,6 iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Procreate and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only)

