I was hanging out in Union Square Park and spotted some pigeons (nature) and some lunchers. Have you ever tried to sketch birds scavenging for crumbs? Not easy. They gave up on me after awhile. I sketched in the pigeons but when I arrived home I decided to carve them out of Speedy Cut. I’m being facetious about this urban, middle of the city, park. It’s really a very cool place and I love to kill time there before I head downtown for Figure al Fresco. There are all sorts of people – from snazzily dressed executive types to junkies to chess players looking to make money to the turbaned tarot reader to doggies in the special dog socializing area to sketchers. There’s also a very extensive farmers market on Wednesday (I think weekends also) selling all sorts of healthy wholesome fresh things which means the park also contains housewives, children, school groups getting organically educated and hippies with cloth shopping bags. There are trees and lawns and tables and chairs you can move around and millions of benches so you can always find someplace to sit. There are also subway entrances which is mucho convenient. I do expect the place is creepy late at night though.

Everyday in May 2016: Drawn from direct observation and color added at home. Birds carved out of Speedy Cut later at home. Materials vary. Acrylic paint; pencil, Sharpie Fine Pen; occasional use of Pitt Brush Pens; commercial letter and number stamps; StazOn pigment stamp ink. When the month is completed it will be bound as a book with a spiral coil.

