Last Saturday the weather was still too cold for prolonged sketching outdoors so the NYC Urban Sketchers gathered in The Met. A plan was proposed as a loose guideline but, days before, The Met posted a picture on Facebook in honor of Rafael’s birthday, I googled it and discovered that if I go to Gallery 609 I will see it in person, so, I had already decided I was going to copy a Rafael masterpiece. “What? You’re going to copy a Rafael in two hours?”, someone asked. Fingers crossed I responded, “Yup.” It is a small painting on wood (approx 9″x12″), in a vertical glass case away from the wall and at MY eye level. It was perfectly exquisite. And it took me a smidge more than two hours.

iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Procreate and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only) Sketched and colored from direct observation.
Full disclosure: I left one small item out of the Rafael copy.

