Chapter 4: In Which I Find Myself In A List

Off to Grand Central Station we all happily traipse. Quite a few long crosstown blocks and quite a few uptown blocks but no one was lost because, after all, who are we? NYC Urban Sketchers. We met up by the stairs leading to the Apple store (uh oh temptations) and disbursed to start putting our newfound knowledge/skills to use. I took out my stool, settled near a wall and began. Sheesh. No one stood still for longer than 5 seconds. It was at this point that I was approached by a group of 3 or 4 young people, from Philadelphia, with a scavenger hunt list in their hands. Seems I was on the list – red coat. Benedicte passed by to tell me where everyone else was and the plans for later. She also satisfied one of the items on the scavenge hunt list. The scavenger spokesperson offered me a candy filled Easter egg from an Easter basket, but I told her as a New Yorker I couldn’t accept candy from a stranger. Thank goodness it wasn’t ice cream.

I don’t know whether it was a good or bad thing that, on a Saturday, the hectic workday commuters were absent, leaving all the tourists and suburbanites, who, while not hectic, refused to stand still.

iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Procreate and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only) Sketched from direct observation. Color added later at home.

