This is what happens: after all the routine drops, scans, reading of eye charts, pressure measurement and dilation I am taken into another exam room. The Doc is very friendly, chatty, funny, etc. as he examines the retinas of both eyes. He leaves to move on to another patient and the assistant sets up what will be used later and starts dripping more drops onto the eyeball. During this period, usually, I’m finishing up a sketch on iPat but this time I had already finished it. Now, I’m very comfortable in this place but if I have to sit still with nothing to occupy myself (otherwise known as Brain Anaesthesia) while I wait for the Doc in his Very Serious Professional Persona, to return, I run the risk of getting nervous too soon. In this room the mirrors were not placed to facilitate a self-portrait so I threw caution to the wind and sketched the whatchamacallit instrument. I don’t care how wonky and inaccurate it may be – it served its purpose and staved off the nerves until just the last second. ZAP!

iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Finngr Pro and Sketch Club (ArtRage used for texture only)

