These cards are the results of two visits, for other purposes, to the city with the Every Day In June list clutched in my hot, sweaty hand just in case I stumbled upon list-worthy items.

#19 – At the Met I sped through the second floor part of the fantastic exhibition “China: Through The Looking Glass” until I spotted this fashionable item that needed to be sketched by me. Picture a gold mannequin clothed in magnificent textiles covered with wondrous handiwork and an intricate gold headpiece and that is what you will see when you look at my drawing which was done in a very dark room. (I looked around but could find no specific information about the designer, etc.)

#20 – Since part of my rules for this month was to draw from direct observation, Nursery Rhyme, gave me pause. Where would I find Jack and Jill going up a hill, blackbirds in a pie, a cow jumping over fhe moon? I google searched and it seems NYC doesn’t have much in the way of nursery rhyme based sculptures, except for a Mother Goose one in Central Park. The photo didn’t look very interesting and the location was inconvenient. I decided I wanted to draw an elephant so, back to google I went where I found an appropriate rhyme (I looked for attribution for this with no luck). As for the elephant, I remembered sketching one a few years ago and refreshed my memory as to its location. I found it right where I last saw the sculpture. It is called “Young Elephant” (this is just a detail) by British artist Barry Flanagan and is located in the Galleria behind AXA Center which runs between 52nd and 51st Streets just before Seventh Avenue and is a nice place to sit and relax.

Here’s the nursery rhyme I found:

“The elephant goes like this, like that,
He’s terribly big,
And he’s terribly fat.
He has no fingers,
He has no toes,
But goodness, gracious,
What a nose!”

#21 – After I sketched #19, as I made my way trying to find how to exit the very large and confusing Met, I found myself walking through the passage that always contains prints and drawings. Since I love prints, and one of the items on the list I still clutched was right over “there”, I dawdled in front of it, decided I had nothing to lose and proceeded to attempt copying a small detail of the intricate woodcut. (Hans Baldung [called Hans Baldung Grien], German, 1484/85-1545; Woodcut; Group Of Seven Horses, 1534). The woodcut is black/white and the color is totally my imagination.

I seem to be a bit chatty today.

Drawn from direct observation.
EDiJ = Every Day in June
Playing Card, acrylic painted background; sketches on various papers collaged to card; Pitt Brush Pens – black and colored. Commercial number and alphabet stamps.

