Since my plan for this month is to draw from direct observation, which means I walk around with the list looking for opportunities, I decided to make a quick visit to the Met before I headed downtown last week to Figure al Fresco.

1. I sketched this Degas sculpture from the back to keep out of the way of the hoards of tiny schoolchildren.
9. Picasso’s beautiful painting of a sad Harlequin hangs by itself at the end of a corridor and I cannot resist copying Picasso.
8. This must be what runs through the guard’s mind as the little kids run around and I hover too close. But truthfully it is a self portrait of what I might do if no one was looking.

Drawn from direct observation.
EDiJ = Every Day in June
Playing Card, acrylic painted background; sketches on various papers collaged to card; Pitt Brush Pens – black and colored. Commercial number and alphabet stamps.

