The day I arrived in Portland, after checking in at the hotel (and being upgraded to King Deluxe – wowser!!), I walked around the city looking for someplace to eat because I certainly didn’t get any food on the two airplanes. Stomach no longer growling I continued to walk around and slowly made my way back to the hotel and my 4:00 meetup with June. She took me to the King Deluxe bookstore, Powell’s, and then more city walking which led us back to the hotel’s Swine Bar and my first Happy Hour.

Poor June had to “Freeze! Don’t Move! Stay Still!” while I drew her portrait as she sipped her wine. Yes. The Swine place serves wine in those glasses. This portrait is super duper totally true and real. Except for one thing. Apparently when I sketch portraits while drinking wine I knock off several decades.

Want to look really young? Just bring a bottle of sweet white wine and two glasses.

Moleskine journal; background Gelli Plate printed with acrylic; Sharpie Ultra Fine pen, Pitt brush pen, Signo Uni-ball (UM-153) white gel pen; and a bit of color added using Crayola markers.

