I met up with the NYC Urban Sketchers waiting on line outside The Frick Collection and, it was a bit chilly but there was a smell of spring in the air. The streets of Manhattan (at least midtown) are nice and clear of any hint of snow. Wait! Look over the wall, across the street, into Central Park. Deep white stuff – just like I have to climb over to get to my car every day.

It was calm, warm and crowded inside the museum – pay what you want 11-1 pm on Sundays – and we scattered to sketch. I made a circuit of all the galleries and then entered a room that I think is called The Ceramic Room (?) where I’ve sketched before.

Next I made a beeline to copy this large painting that hangs over a fireplace. Mark was already there doing the same thing but I only had time to finish the line drawing before some (6) of us left the building to get some lunch. When I returned later on to complete the painting I found Jeff also working on St. Jerome.

And, even though I am sure you ALL remember, here is St. Jerome as a stamp made out of Fun Foam from a version that is found in the Met. My friends and I each picked out a painting while at the Met one day and had a fine, fun time at Shirley’s house making stamps. Lots of laughter that day.

Images 1&2
iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Apps Used: Finngr Pro and ArtRage

Image 3
Fun Foam, scissors, x-acto knife, stamp pads,journal, acrylic paint, alphabet stamps, Sharpie pens.

