On my way to Figure al Fresco on Wednesday I have started taking a Big Detour. In reality, all I have to do is hop on the #1 subway right inside Penn Station and get off at Rector Street or South Ferry.

Instead, my new favorite route is to exit Penn Station and zig zag walk downtown and eastward and then straight on Broadway through Madison Square Park until I reach 17th Street and enter Union Square Park.

On Wednesday there is a very large, colorful and Crowded Farmers Market. I walk along, looking at everything and buying one thing for later in the evening. Yum. Then I circumnavigate the entire park looking for the exactly right spot to begin sketching.

You know. The bench that enables me to sit opposite people totally involved with their phone appendage, lunch or conversation. I do avoid the one or two enclaves of “shady characters”.

iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
Gridded notebook and Tombow brush, sketches photographed using iPad and then imported into ArtRage for painting.

