Another Saturday off found me having breakfast in Penn Station before I walked the long crosstown block to the F train which took me to Brooklyn. Hey! Wasn’t I there last week also? When I was a teenager I was forbidden to go to Brooklyn. The only thing/place forbidden to me in those days.

The NYC Urban Sketchers spent the day with a plein air painters group and volunteers at the Gowanus Canal Conservancy. Things are being cleaned up and the neighborhood is thriving.

Still. Someone joked that if you fall in the canal you will glow in the dark.

After the first two sketches I couldn’t stand the hot sun a minute longer. I found a large patch of shade just on the other side of an old school bus.

I sat on a stone wall and sketched and chatted with the artists already there. I learned about corbels but refrained from drawing any.

Intermission now. We were being treated to free barbecue and I spotted some Dunkin’ donuts. Veggie burger and a donut. Yum. Stay tuned.

Process and Apps Used:
iPad; New Trent Arcadia stylus.
#1&4 – Pen & Ink and ArtRage
#2&3 – Gridded notebook and Pilot V-ball pen, drawings photographed using iPad and then imported into ArtRage for painting
#5 – ArtRage only.

