Last week I mentioned that I was doing a workshop (Thursday and Friday) uptown with Carla Sonheim. We were making Blobimal Artist Books. I also mentioned that on Thursday I had a Slippery Mojo thing going on. Now, there were 9 people in the workshop, including Carla and me, and 8 of those people had absolutely no problem finding the animals in the blobs and then painting beautiful, interesting, fantastical, imaginative, each one different from the others, animals.
Except me.
I couldn’t find an animal in my watercolor blobs if it was carrying a sign that it then knocked over my head. Nothing. Nada. Zero.
Sigh.
But, at the same time, I was having mucho fun. I had no problem picking out the animals from the blobs found on 89th Street. Easy peasy. I was able to draw all the toys she put in front of me. Easy peasy. Carla’s exercises in drawing, etc. were putting smiles on everyone’s faces. What a hoot she is.

So, I obliterated all the white from my watercolor blobby book pages (book was already bound with a simple pamphlet stitch) by overpainting everything with either a transparent wash of yellow or burnt sienna. Felt happier.
Went home.
Realized what the problem was.

When I boarded the train Friday morning I was carrying my cotton back-pack thingie filled with the solution.
After eating breakfast in the station I took out some of the papers and explored the feasibility of my idea. Yep. It seemed that it would work.

At the studio I didn’t even bother sitting down. The book came together effortlessly, without thought. I used the scissors fearlessly.
I was in the zone.

Back cover, front cover:

Pages 1&2:

Pages 3&4:

Pages 5&6:

Pages 7&8:

Pages 9&10:

You see, these images are culled from all the 1 and 2 minute scraggely pencil drawings I’ve been scribbling every Wednesday on newsprint and meant to toss out. I schlepped the mountain of folded wrinkled, very questionable drawings and a large piece of tracing paper and that, up above, is what happened.

Mojo and Serendipity were friends again.

Process:
Watercolor, Fabriano Artistico 140 lb hot press, waxed thread, pencil, tracing paper, Sharpie very fine point and the biggest markers, scissors.

