With sketching lines front and center, but where am I?

Without sketching but I must be there. Benedicte is a little whacko waving around Teri’s sketchbook picture of Gumbo Dumbo or whoever it is if I’m not there to see it. Right?

Without the White Paper Bag that Shirley kept near her mouth. That bag seemed daunting so I went with not painting it. Ha! See how clever I can be? Anyway, there was nothing but crumbs left.

Before all this we met up at MoMA for the member’s (members’? ) only preview of:

Claes Oldenburg: The Street and The Store
Claes Oldenburg: Mouse Museum/Ray Gun Wing

April 14–August 5, 2013

I will admit that I wasn’t particularly looking forward to this but from the first glance into the first exhibition from the doorway I was smitten. “The Street” is absolutely EXQUISITE MAGNIFICENT and every other superlative imaginable even though it is created from trash. And then the wall of “flags”! Also constructed from trash! The crude drawings and collages. Anyway. You get the picture – a feast for the eyes and heart.

We also visited a couple of other exhibits:
First we viewed “A Trip From Here To There”. This descriptive sentence is from MoMA’s website:
“A Trip from Here to There explores practices and works generated by walking, wandering, and travel.”
Interesting maps, drawings, things.

Next we stopped at “Wait, Later This Will Be Nothing: Editions by Dieter Roth” which I expected (I think we all did) to love but I ended up only finding myself drawn to one etching – got a stealth photo of it – and sort of mildly interested in a few other images. Of course I was feeling tired by then and was getting cranky. Maybe the work was actually super duper.

We left the museum and walked north and westward, bought movie tickets and continued a few blocks north, had a nice lunch at outside tables and, rejuvenated, headed back to the theatre.
We spent a few hours with French (the few songs delighted Benedicte) and without English.

Then, without Benedicte or Shirley, but with Teri for awhile, I walked downtown on 8th Avenue to Penn Station.

******
ArtRage app, Sensu brush. Where was I? I took a picture of them in the theatre and it was so dark I got a very fuzzy,dark, noise-filled iPat photo which I used to loosely trace the outlines of what I could see. Then I discarded the photo and made up the rest using the brush tip and oil paint.

